# HAY AND ROSS AWARD WINNERS ANNOUNCED

**Seymour Siwoff** and **Keith McClellan** have been named winners of PFRA's annual achievement awards.

Siwoff, through his Elias Sports Bureau, has not only kept careful track of each season's statistics and introduced new measuring formulae, but also he has not been content to simply let pre-Elias (pre-1960) NFL statistics rest unchallenged. Elias has gone back, double- and triple-checked past records and corrected many errors.

Because of his unswerving efforts to get the records correct, both past and present, Mr. Siwoff and the Elias Sports Burea has been named the 1998 winner of PFRA's **Ralph Hay Award**, given for lifetime achievement in pro football research and historiography.

## **Past Hay Award Winners**

1997 Total Sports

1996 Don Smith

1995 John Hogrogian

1994 Jim Campbell

1993 Robert Van Atta

1992 Richard Cohen

1991 Joe Horrigan

1990 Bob Gill

1989 Joe Plack

1988 David Neft

McClellan is the author of *The Sunday Game* (The University of Akron Press, \$19.95), an intricately detailed account of pro football efforts in the midwest during the seasons of 1915-17. He traces each important (and some not-so-important) team of the period. The inclusion of rosters and extensive notes are major plusses.

McClelland is the recipient of the **1998 Nelson Ross Award** given for recent achievement in pro football research and historiography.

#### **Past Ross Award Winners**

1997 Tod Maher & Bob Gill

1996 JohnHogrogian

1995 Phil Dietrich

1994 Rick Korch

1993 Jack Smith

1992 John M. Carroll

1991 Tod Maher

1990 Pearce Johnson

1989 Bob Gill

1988 Bob Braunwart

This year brought an unusual number of strong candidates for both awards. The PFRA Executive Director and current officers (excluding the Board of Directors) are not eligible for either award.

# PFRA WRITING AWARDS

The awarding of the first annual PFRA Writing Awards for 1998 contains at least one surprise. As announced last spring, awards were to be given for articles written originally for *The Coffin Corner* in two categories: pre-1970 and post-1970. However, several judges noted that personality features did not seem to fit comfortably into either category and urged the creation of a third award. Belatedly, their idea was accepted.

Although we will not reveal the number of votes each winner received, it should be noted that no fewer than six articles received votes in each of the first two categories while there were five different personality features mentioned by judges.

### The Winners:

**Pre-1970**: First - Tom Farley for "1960 NFL Conference Races;" Second – James Quirk for "The Minneapolis Marines."

**Post-1970**: First – Mike Sparrow for "The All-Time Non-Pro Bowl Team;" Second – Mark Speck for "World Bowl I ... and Only."

**Personality Feature**: First - Ed Gruver for "Remembering Ray Nitschke;" Second - Jim Sargent for "George Hughes."

First place winners will receive a certificate and a one-year extension of their PFRA membership. Second place winners will receive a certificate and a six-month extension of their memberships.

## **SWICK IS NEW DIRECTOR**

Veteran PFRA Member Bob Swick has been elected to the PFRA Board of Directors in a close election. Members were asked to send in write-in candidates for the unexpired term of the late Pearce Johnson which had temporarily been filled by John Hogrogian.

## THE COFFIN CORNER - Vol. XXI, No. 1

(1999)

12870 Rt. 30 / N.Huntingdon, PA 15642 724 863-6345 Fax: 724 863-6345

bcarroll@westol.com

Website:

www.geocities.com/Colosseum/Sideline/5960

PFRA MEMBERSHIP \$25 per year

Bob Carroll, Editor

Melissa Hredocik, Assistant